Hard Rubber Orchestra

The Hard Rubber Orchestra is a large Vancouver jazz ensemble formed in 1990 by composer John Korsrud. The orchestra plays a wide-range of styles from traditional jazz to contemporary classical new music and have commissioned fifty Canadian composers reflecting that eclecticism such as Linda Bouchard, Darcy James Argue, Keith Hamel, Paul Dolden, Fred Stride, Howard Bashaw, Brad Turner, Rene Lussier, Hugh Fraser and Christine Jensen.

They have created large multi-media shows such as operas, new music ice shows, avant raves, and CBC television specials. They have travelled across Canada several times and to Europe. In 2005 they received the Alcan Arts Award for creation, the largest arts prize of its kind in Canada. In 2010, they performed for the Louis Andriessen@70 Festival with iconic contemporary Dutch composer present.