Release Date:

Downloads include choice of MP3, WAV, or FLAC

Enregistré à l’automne 2012, Just for my Lady témoigne d’abord du formidable rapport qui s’est développé au fil des ans entre Jones et ses collaborateurs de longue date, le vétéran contrebassiste Éric Lagacé et l’extraordinaire batteur Jim Doxas, véritable étoile montante au firmament du jazz d’ici. Sur les morceaux au rythme enlevé (« Josée’s Blues ») comme sur les ballades mélancoliques (« When Summer Comes »), le trio fait preuve d’une époustouflante synergie qui puise à même le profond respect, l’affection sincère et la confiance inébranlable que chaque membre du groupe ressent manifestement pour les autres.

La présence imposante d’un invité de marque, Josée Aidans au violon, constitue un bel apport au swing et à l’élégance déjà remarquable. Avec une qualité d’émotion qui rappelle le panache d’un Stéphane Grappelli (particulièrement dans la relecture de « Windmills of Your Mind » de Michel Legrand), Aidains s’intègre sans effort au groupe, comme s’il en avait toujours fait partie, et fait néanmoins entendre une voix distincte qui invite gentiment les autres à se dépasser.

Just For My Lady

Oliver Jones, Josée Aidans

Select Format
play_circle_outline
Josée's Blues
4:17
add_shopping_cart $1.29
play_circle_outline
You Look Good To Me
7:27
add_shopping_cart $1.29
play_circle_outline
Lights of Burgundy
4:42
add_shopping_cart $1.29
play_circle_outline
The Angel and Mr. Jones
4:59
add_shopping_cart $1.29
play_circle_outline
Prince Albert Sunrise
2:06
add_shopping_cart $1.29
play_circle_outline
Regina Sky
5:18
add_shopping_cart $1.29
play_circle_outline
Saskatoon Spirit
3:20
add_shopping_cart $1.29
play_circle_outline
Just For My Lady
6:06
add_shopping_cart $1.29
play_circle_outline
In The Key of Geoff
4:11
add_shopping_cart $1.29
play_circle_outline
When Summer Comes
5:49
add_shopping_cart $1.29
play_circle_outline
The Windmills of my Mind
4:31
add_shopping_cart $1.29
play_circle_outline
Lady Be Good
5:05
add_shopping_cart $1.29

Downloads include choice of MP3, WAV, or FLAC

Enregistré à l’automne 2012, Just for my Lady témoigne d’abord du formidable rapport qui s’est développé au fil des ans entre Jones et ses collaborateurs de longue date, le vétéran contrebassiste Éric Lagacé et l’extraordinaire batteur Jim Doxas, véritable étoile montante au firmament du jazz d’ici. Sur les morceaux au rythme enlevé (« Josée’s Blues ») comme sur les ballades mélancoliques (« When Summer Comes »), le trio fait preuve d’une époustouflante synergie qui puise à même le profond respect, l’affection sincère et la confiance inébranlable que chaque membre du groupe ressent manifestement pour les autres.

La présence imposante d’un invité de marque, Josée Aidans au violon, constitue un bel apport au swing et à l’élégance déjà remarquable. Avec une qualité d’émotion qui rappelle le panache d’un Stéphane Grappelli (particulièrement dans la relecture de « Windmills of Your Mind » de Michel Legrand), Aidains s’intègre sans effort au groupe, comme s’il en avait toujours fait partie, et fait néanmoins entendre une voix distincte qui invite gentiment les autres à se dépasser.

Date:

Recorded during the fall of 2012, Just for my Lady documents the formidable rapport between pianist Oliver Jones and his long-time sidemen, veteran bassist Éric Lagacé and drummer extraordinaire Jim Doxas, a genuine rising star on the Canadian jazz horizon. Whether on hard driving numbers 'Josee’s Blues' or on melancholy ballads 'Lights of Burgundy' and 'When Summer Comes', the trio displays an astounding synergy that only comes from the profound respect, the sincere affection and the solid trust each member of the group obviously feels for the others.

The commanding presence of very special guest Josée Aidans on violin is a welcome addition to the trio’s unique brand of swinging elegance. With a quality of emotion that recalls Stéphane Grappelli’s panache particularly on Michel Legrand’s 'Windmills of Your Mind', Aidans blends into the group as if she's always been a part of it, and still lets us hear a distinctive voice that gently challenges the other musicians to surpass themselves.

Digital Download UPC: 0068944025152
CD UPC: 068944025121

Just For My Lady

Oliver Jones, Josée Aidans

Format

Tracklist


1. play_circle_outline

Josée's Blues 4:17

$1.29

add_shopping_cart

2. play_circle_outline

You Look Good To Me 7:27

$1.29

add_shopping_cart

3. play_circle_outline

Lights of Burgundy 4:42

$1.29

add_shopping_cart

4. play_circle_outline

The Angel and Mr. Jones 4:59

$1.29

add_shopping_cart

5. play_circle_outline

Prince Albert Sunrise 2:06

$1.29

add_shopping_cart

6. play_circle_outline

Regina Sky 5:18

$1.29

add_shopping_cart

7. play_circle_outline

Saskatoon Spirit 3:20

$1.29

add_shopping_cart

8. play_circle_outline

Just For My Lady 6:06

$1.29

add_shopping_cart

9. play_circle_outline

In The Key of Geoff 4:11

$1.29

add_shopping_cart

10. play_circle_outline

When Summer Comes 5:49

$1.29

add_shopping_cart

11. play_circle_outline

The Windmills of my Mind 4:31

$1.29

add_shopping_cart

12. play_circle_outline

Lady Be Good 5:05

$1.29

add_shopping_cart

Recorded during the fall of 2012, Just for my Lady documents the formidable rapport between pianist Oliver Jones and his long-time sidemen, veteran bassist Éric Lagacé and drummer extraordinaire Jim Doxas, a genuine rising star on the Canadian jazz horizon. Whether on hard driving numbers 'Josee’s Blues' or on melancholy ballads 'Lights of Burgundy' and 'When Summer Comes', the trio displays an astounding synergy that only comes from the profound respect, the sincere affection and the solid trust each member of the group obviously feels for the others.

The commanding presence of very special guest Josée Aidans on violin is a welcome addition to the trio’s unique brand of swinging elegance. With a quality of emotion that recalls Stéphane Grappelli’s panache particularly on Michel Legrand’s 'Windmills of Your Mind', Aidans blends into the group as if she's always been a part of it, and still lets us hear a distinctive voice that gently challenges the other musicians to surpass themselves.