Release Date:

Downloads include choice of MP3, WAV, or FLAC

Parmi les plus versatiles et originales des auteures-interprètes au Canada, Sienna Dahlen a passé sa jeunesse dans le nord lointain du pays, dans la ville de Dawson Creek. Dit-elle, « Je me souviens de journées extrêmement froides, durant lesquelles le soleil s’élevait pendant à peine quelques heures par jour. C’est évident que ces expériences ont influencé mon développement en tant qu’auteure et vocaliste. »

Si Verglas a été enregistré au printemps, l’ambiance qui y règne est décidément hivernale. « J’ai toujours aimé réunir les mondes du jazz et du folk, car la simplicité de la ‘chanson’, mariée avec les qualités spontanées et quelque peu abstraites de l’improvisation donne un équilibre parfait au niveau de la composition. » Sienna Dahlen réside actuellement Toronto, où elle travaille en tant qu’éducatrice et musicienne pigiste.

Share

Verglas

Sienna Dahlen

Select Format

Tracklist


play_circle_outline

1.

Jaded Heart 6:46

$1.29

add_shopping_cart
play_circle_outline

2.

Stray 6:28

$1.29

add_shopping_cart
play_circle_outline

3.

Lil' Drummer Boy 2:07

$1.29

add_shopping_cart
play_circle_outline

4.

Words 6:49

$1.29

add_shopping_cart
play_circle_outline

5.

Sanguine 4:54

$1.29

add_shopping_cart
play_circle_outline

6.

Verglas 8:00

$1.29

add_shopping_cart
play_circle_outline

7.

Carrie 6:11

$1.29

add_shopping_cart

Downloads include choice of MP3, WAV, or FLAC

Parmi les plus versatiles et originales des auteures-interprètes au Canada, Sienna Dahlen a passé sa jeunesse dans le nord lointain du pays, dans la ville de Dawson Creek. Dit-elle, « Je me souviens de journées extrêmement froides, durant lesquelles le soleil s’élevait pendant à peine quelques heures par jour. C’est évident que ces expériences ont influencé mon développement en tant qu’auteure et vocaliste. »

Si Verglas a été enregistré au printemps, l’ambiance qui y règne est décidément hivernale. « J’ai toujours aimé réunir les mondes du jazz et du folk, car la simplicité de la ‘chanson’, mariée avec les qualités spontanées et quelque peu abstraites de l’improvisation donne un équilibre parfait au niveau de la composition. » Sienna Dahlen réside actuellement Toronto, où elle travaille en tant qu’éducatrice et musicienne pigiste.

Share

Release Date:

Downloads include choice of MP3, WAV, or FLAC

One of Canada’s most versatile and original singer – composer multi instrumentalists, Sienna Dahlen grew up in the northern Canadian town of Dawson Creek, says Dahlen “I can recall many bitterly cold days when daylight only showed its face for a few hours, or so it seemed. It’s safe to say that those experiences played a part in my development as a vocalist and songwriter.”

Though recorded in the spring, the mood of ‘Verglas’ is undoubtedly winter like. “I’ve always loved bringing the worlds of jazz and folk music together as the simplicity of ‘songs’ paired with the spontaneous and somewhat abstract qualities of improvisation make for a perfect compositional balance.” Sienna is currently based in Toronto, where she works as a freelance musician and educator.

This album was inspired by Lhasa de Sela and the texture- light of "verglas" (ice rain).

Credits
Sienna Dahlen - voice / acoustic guitar / piano

Karl Jannuska - drums / percussion

Andrew Downing - 5 string cello

Pierre Perchaud - electric guitars

Justin Haynes - guest guitarist on "Jaded Heart"

Share

Verglas

Sienna Dahlen

Select Format

Tracklist


play_circle_outline

1.

Jaded Heart 6:46

$1.29

add_shopping_cart
play_circle_outline

2.

Stray 6:28

$1.29

add_shopping_cart
play_circle_outline

3.

Lil' Drummer Boy 2:07

$1.29

add_shopping_cart
play_circle_outline

4.

Words 6:49

$1.29

add_shopping_cart
play_circle_outline

5.

Sanguine 4:54

$1.29

add_shopping_cart
play_circle_outline

6.

Verglas 8:00

$1.29

add_shopping_cart
play_circle_outline

7.

Carrie 6:11

$1.29

add_shopping_cart

Downloads include choice of MP3, WAV, or FLAC

One of Canada’s most versatile and original singer – composer multi instrumentalists, Sienna Dahlen grew up in the northern Canadian town of Dawson Creek, says Dahlen “I can recall many bitterly cold days when daylight only showed its face for a few hours, or so it seemed. It’s safe to say that those experiences played a part in my development as a vocalist and songwriter.”

Though recorded in the spring, the mood of ‘Verglas’ is undoubtedly winter like. “I’ve always loved bringing the worlds of jazz and folk music together as the simplicity of ‘songs’ paired with the spontaneous and somewhat abstract qualities of improvisation make for a perfect compositional balance.” Sienna is currently based in Toronto, where she works as a freelance musician and educator.

This album was inspired by Lhasa de Sela and the texture- light of "verglas" (ice rain).

Credits
Sienna Dahlen - voice / acoustic guitar / piano

Karl Jannuska - drums / percussion

Andrew Downing - 5 string cello

Pierre Perchaud - electric guitars

Justin Haynes - guest guitarist on "Jaded Heart"

Share